Kemmiiii's Blog

Feel-A-Boobie

Posted on: October 22, 2011

Hey Ma Gees. :D.

I know. I know. I have been lazy *guilty face* I have so much going on. Just finished a crazy set of exams. My brain kinda went on vacation. Hope It’ll back soon tho. I haven’t been exactly lazy tho; In case you didn’t get the notifications, I have a new category: From my Mailbox where I have been posting Random stuff from my mailbox. You know all those chain emails you don’t bother reading? Yeah.

Also, Poetry.

Some other stuff too. If you want to be the first to know, you can like to Subscribe to my blog by clicking that lil’ box while you’re dropping a comment 🙂

On to today’s post.

Let me tell you a lil’ story:

My mother came down with breast cancer almost 8 years ago. It was a really sad time for me because 2 years before then, my parents had a really ugly divorce. My brothers and I were caught in the middle of the mess. I was almost 8 and traumatized. My brothers seemed indifferent though. I was the only one always doing the crying and begging mummy to come back and begging daddy to take mummy back and all.

Sad thing is; Till now, I don’t know why they got a divorce. Upon how nosy I am.

I Also didn’t know my mum had cancer. I only figured when I saw her drug; Tamoxifen. Lots of it. I was older and wiser. So I googled it. I put 2 and 2 together and came up with my breast cancer theory. The breast cancer Magazines, Fliers and all also gave her away.

I remember vividly, My second visiting day as a BMJS student (Fall ’03). I was waiting eagerly for my mum. Clad in my whitest Sunday wear. Mummy did not show :(. My mother’s elder brother came visiting tho. Seeing him deepened my sadness as a matter of fact. He told my elder brother and I that “Mummy went to London for Business”

Mummy’s business trip lasted almost a year. The uncle had to come back to tell us Mummy fell sick while on her business trip and she had to stay back for treatment. I was torn. I cried my head off.

As  a smart girl, I figured that mummy was sick even before she left because anytime she was gonna travel she always talked about it. She couldn’t even come to see us in school before leaving.

So much time away didn’t do so much though; sickness was written all over her. She looked emaciated and sickly. Her hair had fallen out too..effect of chemotherapy.

Anyway, to cut the long story short, My mummy survived. She completed her drugs almost a year ago. She’s hale, hearty and she’s on her grind. One of the things I can be thankful for.

I dunno why I’m telling y’all this story, I just felt like sharing.

“Breast Cancer No Dey Respect Breast Size”

So you see Breast cancer (and most other chronic terminal illnesses) does not come with the physical pain alone. Emotional pain comes with it. You see I’m a very emotional somebody. I was always crying but nobody knew. Nobody even knew my parents were divorced. I was very secretive about my family life. I developed my loud mouth towards the end of Secondary school. I met people with worse family situations than  mine.

I’m glad my mother survived it. Not everybody does.

That Title is too catchy eh? I know. All of you expecting Quaving Lessons 101, I’m really sorry. October is Breast Cancer awareness month so the timing is just perfect.

You see Ladies, (Dudes don’t get too happy) Men can also have breast cancer (just 1% of breast cancers though). Anyone can have breast cancer so don’t go “Oh! Cancer is for the old ladies” It’s just that the older ladies are prone to Beast cancer as they near menopause. In LUTH today, young girls come with serious cases of breast cancer. I could’ve put up pictures but I don’t want anybody to pass out while reading my post.

So I did a little research…Reading really boring stuff here and there. I should put what I learnt in form of an article, But No. I’ll just give bullet points.

  • The Breast is probably the best thing even before sliced bread 😐 .
  • Not all breast lumps are cancerous. However, All breast lumps have to be taken out because they can be precursors for cancer. Don’t be like the people that will run to Pastor, Imam, Babalawo and all because they don’t want to undergo surgery. Your situation might just get worse.
  • If you have a personal or genetic history of cancer. You are at a higher risk.
  • Serious cases of Cancers are Metastatic. Metastasis simply means that the cancer cells can spread to lymph nodes and other surrounding areas like the lungs. Even the brain.
  • Since the major risk factors; Sex, Age and Gender cannot be prevented, It is only wise to do a regular screening for early detection which can prevent death from cancer.  Other risk factors to breast cancer include overzealous use of oral contraceptives and smoking.
  •  Breast Self-Examination (BSE) Can be easily done and it costs nothing.  It should be done regularly. Say monthly; immediately after your menstrual period. A yearly Mammogram is also advisable. Especially for the older ladies.

Breast Self-Examination

I hope I have been able to make sense tho.

*****************************

This post was inspired by a conversation I had with @Real001 recently.

Sources: Google, Wikipedia, emedicinehealth.com

With Major contributions from @Cycatrx and @Dhamyhan

49 Responses to "Feel-A-Boobie"

I’m sorry about your parents and the bad times breast cancer is serious and it’s good you are raising awareness.

Thank God for your mum
I’m getting my boobs checked on monday. . .
Thanks for reminding me 🙂

On point, u shud totally get a column in some chasis mag!

An emotional story… And Yes! u made sense.. 🙂

Lots of sense! Thank God 4 ur mom!!!Lets continue to pray 4 those battling with cancer! It is well IJN

This a good awareness effort, keep it up. I’m sorry about ur parents.

Kemi’s Blog… Been a while 🙂
If babes are so reluctant to carry out BSE, We can open a centre for BTPE for ThirdParty Examination that’s totally Pro Bono, however we will charge A-Cup ppl to cover expenses such as rent, adverts and miscellaneous. I’m kidding.
Glad to hear your mom is fine now, I know what Chemo is like, no be small thing esp. the hair part. Well done Kemi.

I had tears in my eyes while reading this…and *am feeling my boobies* at the moment.! 🙂 :* love u baby.

And in case y’all dint get the Memo…some of us are trained in this very intricate art of boob feel-age,and..and wait for it…………it’s….totally free.Yes……..CHECK YOUR BOOBS NOW!!! P.S Chics only(14-27)

Highly courageous of u to share ur story. A lot of peeps would find the blog highly informative I tell u. Just helped an 18 year old girl too get her lump out this same October and I’m glad I did the lil bit I could. More power to your elbow.

sad tho …buh at least the end doez make me smile … 🙂

Kemmiiii… I’m proud of you… Even the unserious stupid me… I have a straight face on at the moment, thanks for the awareness. Thanks also for giving me a defence for wanting to press my baby’s boobs.

9c one Kemi….ur blog ws my 1st PBL que cc@tolaadebola my grp leader…Guys beware Prostrate cancer is real o

Made a lot of sense!!!gudwrk Ojulari….

*feels chest*
Nope. Nothing there.
Moves on…

😦 could totally relate to this

nicely disguised message….i must say, i’d expected to read on boobs being groped…all in all , nice breast cancer awareness…sorry bout ur parents

Educative post. Thanx for sharing.

Thanks For Sharing Your Story. Looking Forward To Reading More From This Blog (The Fact That This Post Was About Boobies Helped Get My Attention Though x_x)

Happy about your mum!:D..this is a brave post..keep the campaign going..*now going to feel a boobie

Nice! The awareness time is now…. spread the word…..

thank God for ur mum..one of ma mum’s friends had it & it wzn’t a nice experience at all.d hospital ward where she wz had a very depressing atmosphere.unfortunately,she didn’t survive.babes,i beg go check ya selves oo.keep up gud wrk kemi

I’m glad your mum pulled through. Mine didn’t… but she’s in a far better place now holding down some great spots for my siblings and I.

Feel your boobies today… or another’s, but only if you’ve got boobies too 😐

*wears gloves with ‘LAST’ printed clearly on them*

Who wants me to squeeze their boobs?

Nice awareness… Breast cancer is a bitch!

Top post Kemi! Nice one (Y). I’ll gaan build my own kiosk, dedicated mainly to feeling the breasts of passers-by. It’s called Community Service! 😉

I’m happy for your mum. Please make her proud.
Seems like you’re well on your way to doing that anyway
Good job. (Y)

Nice post…All glory to God,you all should keep praying to God bcos even tho doctors say it is over, some lumps still grow again and it places we don’t expect…Many people were free but died years after the surgery and all,it won’t ur mum’s portion…Keep praying for her.

[…] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Research on Oral ContraceptivesAnti Aging Oral Contraceptives Human Growth Hormone LipodystrophyRockville Gynecologist Dr. Yuri – Birth Control Pills and Cancer BlogCervical Cancer Stages SymptomsDetox Weight LossFeel-A-Boobie […]

Anoymous ⋅ OCTOBER 22, 2011 AT 7:15 PM
Nice post…All glory to God,you should keep praying to God bcos even tho doctors say it is over, some lumps still grow again and in places you wont expect…Many people were free but they die years after the surgery and all,it won’t be ur mum’s portion…Keep praying for her.
REPLY

Almost cryin as I read thru this…I remember when I had a breast cancer scare,thank God it was a scare…cancer is very terrible wateva form it comes in cervical,lungs,blood…get urself chekd..a family friend died v cancer v d blood.uncle akin R.I.P

Kemi…..I’m pwoud ov u…*thumbs up*

Very nice nd brave of you. May God be with all of us

hunnay…just c-ing dis. I love it so much. Ppl rili nid to noe abt imprt issues lyk dis. Cuz emotional pain cn b mre difficult to treat than d physical. And ppl nid to noe that they rnt alone in dis. God bless u 4 dis.

it is well kemi.regard to ur mum. how is bayo?

I empathize with u on ur family struggles
nice story to support d course of cancer detection
the title ‘feel the boobies’ is kinda catchy & it’ll probably end up makin more guyz doing the test 😀

I related perfectly 2 ds…Cancer z a real bitch! Av 3 family membaz da died of it.am scared too ☹

Even tho I carry absolute last, I just want to say this is a real nice post

Aww you’re such a strong woman, & Thank God your mum fought cancer and won!
Thanks for sharing this loove ❤

its been a while i read ur blog……..nice one tho thumbs up :D….happy ur mum is all right

Rily great one TwinSis. It was a̶̲̥̅̊ very touchin’ piece presented in a̶̲̥̅̊ slightly humorous way. I am particularly swayed by ur originality in writin n d̶̲̥̅̊ fact that it was rily educative. It was also brave of u sharin these ‘top secrets’. Glad ur mum won d̶̲̥̅̊ battle. Thumbs Up!!

Nice one,i really love the presentation.

[…] something related I wrote as part of breast cancer awareness month last year; Feel A Boobie you should check it […]

[…] Kemmiiii. One of the most open people I know. Vulnerability frightens all of us, and we have our ways of dealing with them. Kemi writes. […]

Share Your Thoughts

  • Cecila: When shopping from the internet, a numerate of the great unwashed ofttimes take time to scan done a twosome of reviews on the merchandise ahead qual
  • cycatrx: Kem dela creame....... :d
  • bybaaaa: Lol. I just saw this thanks to oumissa. I love you. :*

Awards

You like this blog so much??
Follow us via email :)

Copyright

Most Images are 'borrowed' from Google Images. Others are from Twitter, BBM and Instagram. This'll last till I can lay my hands on Graphic Designing.
