Kemmiiii's Blog

1. A Dark/Turbulent Moment.

Posted on: December 1, 2012

20121207-104534.jpg

Tur-bu-lent (Adjective) |tur-byu-lunt|
-Characterized by unrest, disorder, agitation or insubordination.

Mo-ment (Noun) |mow-munt|
-A particular point in time.

Life as we know it is full of so many uncertainties and bad things happen to good people. Bad people too. And everything they say, happens for a reason because God always has a plan and a purpose for our lives.

It is a known fact that ups and downs are necessary; they are what shape us. If you don’t experience the lows, you cannot savor and appreciate the highs.

20121201-160025.jpg

I have experienced many lows and many highs in this my short journey in life. All for which I’m thankful and grateful to God for seeing me through.

Evidently, I have gone through turbulent times but the most turbulent has to be the period between JSS1 and JSS2 when my mother had to go away for a mysterious reason. I later got to know that it was a sickness that was best unknown to my brothers and I.
It was bad enough that my parents separated two years before and I was still trying to get myself together and recover from the trauma. Mother just had to come down with this horrible illness that will keep her away from us for so long.

“How long is she going to be away for?” We asked our Uncle Lanre.
“Just six months”

Six months turned into almost a full year.

Can you imagine a JSS1 girl on visiting day when no one comes to visit her?
Mother never missed visiting days so Uncle Lanre was saddled with the duty of bringing us Provisions on visiting day. The tasty Fried Chicken was no match for Mothers’s home cooked Jollof Rice/Fried Rice which was the highlight of every visiting day asides the provisions and extra pocket money that came with it.

Shamefully, those were the most prayerful/trying times in my life. I just wanted mother to be okay.

It wasn’t until years later that I put two and two together and realized that mother went to treat herself for breast cancer. No wonder she was looking so frail and had almost all her hair gone by the time she got back. Frail or Not, I was just happy to have my mother back.

Now I do and I make sure she knows how much I love her. I hope such affliction does not show it’s ugly face again.

People with a family history of Breast Cancer should take it seriously. Genetic predisposition has been proven. Do the Breast Self Examination as frequently as possible and go for routine checks.

Here’s something related I wrote as part of breast cancer awareness month last year; Feel A Boobie you should check it out.

PS. If you care to read more from my challenge, do subscribe. ๐Ÿ™‚
xoxo!!

3 Responses to "1. A Dark/Turbulent Moment."

I guess u still need to be very prayerful cos like the Yorubas do say ‘eyi ti o da nfe adura, eyi toda na fe adura’ so keep praying my dear.

Day 1, I’m here. I guess I will be here on day 41 too ๐Ÿ˜€

Amen. As long as the Mayans weren’t right!

‘Kemi Windapo

[…] topics in yes particular order include; 1. Discuss a dark/turbulent moment in your life. 2. Discuss some of the things on your bucket list. 3. 15 facts about you. 4. The meaning of your […]

Share Your Thoughts

  • None
  • Cecila: When shopping from the internet, a numerate of the great unwashed ofttimes take time to scan done a twosome of reviews on the merchandise ahead qual
  • cycatrx: Kem dela creame....... :d
  • bybaaaa: Lol. I just saw this thanks to oumissa. I love you. :*

Awards

You like this blog so much??
Follow us via email :)

Copyright

Most Images are 'borrowed' from Google Images. Others are from Twitter, BBM and Instagram. This'll last till I can lay my hands on Graphic Designing.
