Kemmiiii's Blog

6. My Favorite Musician

Posted on: December 6, 2012

20121204-104448.jpg

People that know me well + My Readers that have been around for a pretty long while already know that I’m gonna go on and on about Fela. Yes. I loved afrobeat before it became cool to be Afrocentric.

Fela is my favorite musician.

I mean, what’s not to love? Dude’s a LEGEND! He was an Activist in his own way. I only wish he didn’t die the way he did and when he did. He should’ve been around to sing about all the bullshit that’s going on in this our blessed country. I can imagine what he’ll be singing now when he was singing all that when the country was relatively good.

If you ask me, I’d say Fela was a Nostradamus in his own right because his songs are still apply. Very much so.

You shouldn’t be surprised that I like BlackMagic too. The musician that is. His music reminds me of Fela and he is just different. Just like I made my roommates in year 1 know/like Fela, my present roommates are already undergoing the ‘BlackMagic-Loving’ conversion process.

Its even funny how I’m a Fela fan and I’ve never been to his shrine or his new museum. I just need someone to take me. Lol.

Because I love Fela so much, I’m going to use my first paycheck as an House Officer (intern) to buy his complete works. I was originally planning to use the money to send my father to Jerusalem but he simply laughed and said; “There are many trips to pay for” when I suggested it to him.

Yeah. There you have it;

Fela! Is my guy *in Ice Prince’s voice*

2 Responses to "6. My Favorite Musician"

Fela was the king,
FELA, The King of our music
O what a king
FELA, the king of kalakuta

If not for education that ruined me, I wanted to be the FELA of my time, then again, while studing, I met Tai Solarin and I must tell u. There re activists and there are activist but when u talk about Nigerian activist in naija, then I will say FELA nd Tai cos they don’t run into exile, in fact they prepare for the govt to come for them cos they know they will always come nd they (Fela nd Tai) will always talk.

Imagine hearing this in Fela’s voice “I no dey wear shoe”. Fela is more than a legend, he’s a standalone Hall of Fame. Whatever Fela does, there was always a reason nd guess what “FELA IS A THINKER”

I’m addicted to Blackmagic ATM.

Share Your Thoughts

  • None
  • Cecila: When shopping from the internet, a numerate of the great unwashed ofttimes take time to scan done a twosome of reviews on the merchandise ahead qual
  • cycatrx: Kem dela creame....... :d
  • bybaaaa: Lol. I just saw this thanks to oumissa. I love you. :*

Awards

You like this blog so much??
Follow us via email :)

Copyright

Most Images are 'borrowed' from Google Images. Others are from Twitter, BBM and Instagram. This'll last till I can lay my hands on Graphic Designing.
