Kemmiiii's Blog

My 2012

Posted on: December 31, 2012

On December 1st 2012, I tweeted; “This year hasn’t been my year.” Yes, it wasn’t my best year yet, because I’ve had better years and I know that I have better years to come.

It only took my reading Okeimoute’s story on 19th Street to appreciate my year. When Efe was asking people to pick dates to write, I wasn’t moved to because I didn’t feel the need to share how my 2012 went. Reading Okiemoute’s story made me realize that I have so much to be thankful for and that my year couldn’t have been any better.

I had more highs than lows this past year and 2012 was my year.

School.

I wrote my First professional examinations in January/February and I wasn’t confident about passing all my courses. I was even preparing to resit my physiology paper before the results came out. Thankfully, when the results came out, I made all my papers even though not in flying colors because I know I could have done much better. This marked the end of my first year in medical school.

Second year started off with the Basic Therapeutic Skills (BTS) programme which was basically an introduction to the clinics. I was really enthusiastic about it because I had previously spent almost 3months lazing at home; really needed to get busy but now I wish those days back because the last few months of 2012 were the most stressful months of my life.

Most of my senior colleagues say that if you can get through your second year of medical school, you’re as good as a doctor because it is the toughest hurdle to scale. I can attest to this; after one incourse, the next incourse is already smiling at you; no time to laze around. Even lazy people like me get on their toes. The light situation in LUTH didn’t even help matters.

All in all, I put in my best as regards schoolwork this past year; all my incourses have been good so far and only the people at the pharmacology department are trying to hold me back.

Family.

Being so far away from my mother and having to live with my father and my step-mum hasn’t been the best for me even though I have learnt to be very much independent. My step-mum became cold all of a sudden compared to who she was last year. I tried not to let this affect me in any way and I’ve done my best not to cross paths with her. We’re fine this way.

I got a new baby sister (half-sister). I wasn’t so excited about this but I got to embrace this fact when Michelle (my new half-sister) smiled at me; this practically made me melt.

My father was installed as president of the Rotary Club of Gbagada and this was a great feat for him.

My Big Brother graduated from the University of Capetown with a BA in Architecture. I’m already reaping the fruits; he took me Christmas shopping.

My little brother won awards at his school’s prize giving day. This same brother that we thought was retarded because my mother practically begged his way through primary school.

I grew much closer to my big sister(half-sister); we didn’t grow up together; My daddy just introduced her as my sister one day but we’re like peas in a pod.

I lost my paternal grandfather and a great uncle in the span of three months. It was a celebration of life because they lived long enough.

God.

I finally found out that serving God isn’t as difficult as people make it out to be; all you need is to be saved.

I got really close to God at a point and I tried my best to stay in contact with him even though my Church attendance wasn’t so clean. At least, it’s not all about the church going.

Personal.

This year was my year of self-discovery;                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           I used to be this shy glassy eyed little girl that couldn’t air her opinions. I couldn’t say no to people and I tended not to have a mind of my own. I got this confidence boost and now I have an air of pride –Good pride- around me and I express myself freely. I’m even quite lousy now or should I say very lousy. (._.  )

I became fashion conscious, I cared about how I looked and became a camerawhore. It may seem bad but I like it; one of my confidence boosters.

I became a truly happy person. Like happy from deep within.

Not my year for love; yet another break up and every guy I met seemed to think I was side chick material.

Went on so many dates and got to experience Lagos.

Been living the single life; I’m alone but not lonely.

I discovered alcohol.

I lost friends, made new ones for which I am thankful. Afterall, you win some and you lose some. I made some pretty awesome friends this year I must add and I bless God for their lives. I’m especially thankful for this one friend that went out of his way to get me out the famous ‘writer’s block’. God bless his heart.

Some other friendships were strengthened.

My twitter presence declined; finally got over my twitter addiction.

I found solace in Music, Movies and Series. Downloading anything and everything became a pastime.

I got two new devices simply by asking. Asking really does wonders.

I wrote an article that got published in The Punch in January; one of the highlights of my year.  My blog was also nominated in the Nigerian Blog Awards under 2 categories and won by popular vote in the ‘Best Student Blog Category’.

Money.

See, Don’t take Sarkodie seriously when he says money no be problem.

I had serious money issues this past year. It all stemmed from when I lost my blackberry in April. I started spending money I didn’t have just to get a new one. The new one I bought got lost in May. Around that same time, I broke someone’s laptop screen and I had to replace it with money I didn’t have. I bought so many things I couldn’t afford and I was practically living from hand to mouth.

The only good thing is the fact that I can account for how I spent all this money.

I still need to learn how to control my impulsive spending.

Anyways, I’ve really grown as a person and I’m thankful for the highs and lows of this past year. 2012 was definitely my year and 2013 is another year; I’d be going into my 3rd year of medical school by God’s grace and I’m hoping for the very best.

I know 2012 was a gangsta year for many people myself inclusive (obviously); So many untimely deaths and unfortunate happenings starting from Fuel Subsidy removal to #OccupyNigeria bants, From the Dana crash to the innocent people jejely observing Sunday evening in their houses, Victims of the Connecticut shooting, ALUU4, Boko Haram misdeeds and all the other happenings but we are still alive and kicking.

I am thankful for the highs and lows of 2012, For the friends that stood by me, I’m especially thankful for Dami and every other person that put a smile on my face. So many that I can’t begin to name names. Also thankful for my blog readers; thank you for reading all these things I churn out. You all keep me going.

God Bless.

Cheers to a better 2013.

8 Responses to "My 2012"

( -̩̩̩͡˛ -̩̩̩͡ )
Thank you for writing such a wonderful piece. The blogger Kemi I know isn’t just back but better.

HaPpY New Year in advance dear.

I feel some parts about me, anyway good luck

Not tired of praising u girl,cheers to 2013…see u there 😉

Next year will be a blast dear. Just give me the address of those pharmacology people.

Gud work Kemi. Kudos! Didn’t knw u had such grebt talenj

This is wonderful good piece u have here.

Share Your Thoughts

  • Cecila: When shopping from the internet, a numerate of the great unwashed ofttimes take time to scan done a twosome of reviews on the merchandise ahead qual
  • cycatrx: Kem dela creame....... :d
  • bybaaaa: Lol. I just saw this thanks to oumissa. I love you. :*

Awards

You like this blog so much??
Follow us via email :)

Copyright

Most Images are 'borrowed' from Google Images. Others are from Twitter, BBM and Instagram. This'll last till I can lay my hands on Graphic Designing.
