Kemmiiii's Blog

38. A Problem I Had

Posted on: January 7, 2013

Maths.

It wasn’t my forte and it still isn’t.

I’m wondering how I made it through secondary school and I remember that my Maths teacher (Let’s call her ‘Mam Las’) always set the examples she thought in class as examination questions. With that, you’ll think one will be acing all the exams. Not me.

Maths seemed to come easy to everyone else. Why only me?

The numbers and the algebras were just in over my head. I was always the one having to make corrections or dub assignments because the ones I tried to solve myself never rhymed with the answers at the back of the text. Such an airhead.

So I had this ‘thing’ for a boy that was in my class JS1 through JS3 and he was a Maths Wiz. I’m talking the crazy kind of person that’ll get a B in Maths because he was too busy studying to get an A in furthermaths. That good.

Said boy started putting me through maths starting from SS1. It was a gradual improvement because the euphoria of sitting down beside boy did not let me learn properly. 😀

With my basic maths knowledge, I still excelled in the sciences because when Maths is an issue, you expect physics to become an issue and you sure as hell don’t expect me to offer Furthermaths because I don’t know the Maths yet how will you expect me to further the maths?!
So, to concentrate on my maths, I opted for Physical Health Education (PHE) in the stead of further maths. People thought I was crazy; I just couldn’t risk that red ink staining my report sheet.

Everything turned out well at the end of the day. I aced both my Cambridge O’Level and WAEC. JAMB too and I made my way into the university. No hassles!

This is me appreciating Mayowa Okulate. My personal genius. Thanks.

Also, Shalla to Mam Las and Mr. Aj for Show. Mam Las for making maths bearable and Aj for just being there. #POKO#

Have you had/do you have any problem like mine?

3 Responses to "38. A Problem I Had"

I looove maths!!! I can’t even think of a better subject…

Nice strategy. For ppl who can’t sit reading for long like me, maths was our saviour but I became my own karma when I decided to move from science to commercial cos I felt science was already a part of me nd I wanted to be different from my siblings.
In SS2, I failed to attempt an accounting assignment cos I aced the subject in SS1 and the teacher threatened that I will baff naked in front of the class. He sent someone to get water for me to have my bath. Errr… You can be sure, the tot of being naked in front of the gurls made me jump out tru d window nd that marked the end of me and accounting in secondary sch nd the beginning of hatred for accounting *sighs*

Smh. How can you opt out of the sciences?
At least accounting is your bitch now eh?
Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device

Share Your Thoughts

  • Cecila: When shopping from the internet, a numerate of the great unwashed ofttimes take time to scan done a twosome of reviews on the merchandise ahead qual
  • cycatrx: Kem dela creame....... :d
  • bybaaaa: Lol. I just saw this thanks to oumissa. I love you. :*

Awards

You like this blog so much??
Follow us via email :)

Copyright

Most Images are 'borrowed' from Google Images. Others are from Twitter, BBM and Instagram. This'll last till I can lay my hands on Graphic Designing.
