Kemmiiii's Blog

My 2013

Posted on: December 31, 2013

20131231-180149.jpg

There I was thinking 2012 was my year not knowing what was coming in 2013.
2013 was good to me and was definitely my year.

I wasn’t going to write a review of my year because I thought there was nothing to write about (Also, reviews are mainstream) but Habeebah begged me to write this one because at the time I wrote about My 2012, she wasn’t my friend and I hated her guts. This is the first December that were not fighting since we’ve been friends. This one’s for you Biebs!

School

20131231-180402.jpg
My 2013 started on a pretty high note, I got back from Christmas holidays in S.A, gained 5kg which I lost while preparing for the barrage of incourses that lay ahead.
Incourses came and went.
Headaches came and went.
Sleepless nights and a shitload of pimples came to stay.

20131231-180808.jpg
With that, My 2nd professional exams finally came; March 4th. This was a time in my life I can never forget. The brain blocks, my pillars and the resits I was prepared to write. This was the exam that people say; “If you can pass it, you’re already a doctor”. The exam was that tough. It was physically and emotionally drenching.

Thank God I passed. My friends passed too and it was a thing of great joy. I passed with 3 credits in 3 if my 5 courses and for this my daddy gave me a car.

With the end of 300level, Basic Clinical Skills (BCS) programme started and it was like laying the foundation for our clinical experience and it was also a time for getting familiar with the clinical coat. God finally turned my long Labcoat into a short white coat -My long time dream! Glory!

20131231-180256.jpg</a

400level clinical rotations were not as chilling/relaxing as a seniors claimed. I loved it nonetheless. Stressful but fun.
I loved theatre sessions, Calls, A&E Calls, Clerking, Clinics, Ward Rounds. Everything. It's only fun when you don't have a resident that means you and doesn't go around asking meaningless questions like I had in surgery.

20131231-180452.jpg
The hustle for signatures was also part of the fun. Where you have to fake smile at, whine and beg the residents to sign your logbook as a sign of attendance. The hustle was real. Some residents were generous with their signatures. Some other acted as if we were begging them to dish out cheques. But whatever. We made it.

In these seven long months, I learnt a lot of things and I appreciate life more. A quick visit to the hospital wards and you begin to thank God for your life and you begin to wonder what special thing you’re doing that is making you not to be in these people’s shoes because it’s not like you’re better than them. I learnt that;
God is great. The human body is an awesome wonder and is a result of God’s omnipotence and omniscience.

I’m blessed. You are too. If you think your life is bad, you have to see people on hospital beds. You’re blessed that you’re not on a hospital bed somewhere, making people run helter skelter because of you neither are you running helter skelter because of anyone. If you’ve had someone in the hospital before, you’ll understand. Also, I didn’t lose my mother to childbirth or something pregnancy related, when I was born, I was born with an anus and all my body parts complete, I don’t have any anomaly. Visit the children’s ward and see newborns on admission, children with cancer, leukemia and all sorts. There was even a surgery done on a two day old baby. Then you’ll begin to wonder why should children; innocent children have to go through such. Who did they offend?

– On a lighter note, male doctors are heuxes. Surgeons especially. Talking about “tell me where you want to go in this Lagos? I will take you” or “what do you do for fun”. There was this one that collected my surgery exam paper and wrote his number on it. I was like “-_-” When I haven’t even finished clerking my patient and my time was up. Mscheww.

Irony of Life. While you see some people seeking abortions, some others are running up and down spending millions just to get pregnant. This wicked life.

All in all, it was a good year for school.

Family.

Bolu turned 1, started walking but hasn’t started saying ‘Auntie Kemi”. We Await.

20131231-180704.jpg
Bolaji graduated from high school with 6 awards, cash prizes and a Universtiy Scholarship to boot. God willing, he’ll be majoring in Megatronics (God knows what this means) in the University of Cape Town (UCT) come February 2014.
Bayonle interned at an architecture firm and failed to send me money.
Mummy resumed work at the University of Lagos after her 4 year Sabbatical leave.
Daddy became a Jerusalem Pilgrim and his tenure as Rotary president ended.
I have a new mummy. Mrs. Koya
Bose changed schools to Mayflower school Ikenne where they give her beans everyday.
I lost an aunt to a dissected aorta. My she RIP.

Personal.

I found love. Not the ‘I love him’ kinda love but the ‘too good to be true’ love like ‘why me?’, like ‘are you even for real?’ ‘I can’t believe it’ kinda love. This I found In a man that goes out of his way for me like no one ever has. He makes me happy.
This time around, I’m my boo’s boo and my lover’s lover.

20131231-180600.jpg
This was my year of friendship. My inner circle – Habeebah, Bukky, Teju & Ife, Dami, Ayodele abbl whom I thank God for. They made the most annoying times fun and made this year a humorous one for me. More upbeat times than I can ever think of.

20131231-180947.jpg
I made so many new friends, thanks to the new hostel/room and school rotations. Idia’h, Nima’h, Funmi Odulele, Funmi Akinde, Dolapo and many others.

20131231-183053.jpg
There was a marked decline in my online presence. I’m not sure why but I think it’s because my new hostel has bad network reception. Not like it’s a bad thing.

I turned 20 and had a nice day out with my inner circle. I’m getting old.

Uncle Deolu taught me how to drive amongst other things. Now I can go out in my own without having someone to sit beside me. Except that I put my teddy bear beside me at times.
Got my first Scratch and Bash on the same day. One keke, One Danfo.

I picked up hobbies like cooking and knitting. I’m well on my way to learn how to sew.

Candy Crush became my new addiction. I’m currently on level 327. Level 197 has been my most challenging level. I was stuck there for over three week and when I tried to buy my way out, I lost 1k6. Crien!

I managed to survive the whole year with my tough natural hair without considering getting a relaxer. Not even for once. Now my hair is longer than my relaxed hair of over 6 years.

20131231-182949.jpg
I read many books of which Chimamanda’s Americanah and Half of a yellow sun and John Grisham’s latest- Sycamore Row were my best.

I watched so many series of which Breaking Bad made my year and I’m imploring you to watch it in case you haven’t.

This wasn’t a year for music but I’ve developed the habit of buying CDs #SupportYourLocalBrand

You see, I had an awesome year with more highs that the lows are not even etched in my mind.
I’m glad that even as the high and mighty are doing their possible best to make Nigeria inhabitable for us, We live!

I’m grateful to God and I’m hopeful for an even joyous 2014!

Cheers!

Hope your 2013 was better than mine!

20131231-183035.jpg

20 Responses to "My 2013"

Aww Kemi, so happy for you! You deserve all the best!! :’) Hope 2014 is an better year 🙂

Thanks dear. I wish you the same and more.

Yaay! Eventually she blogs. HNY
Sent from my BlackBerry wireless device from MTN

Thanks for reading. 😊

Nice post… Great fan tho… Kindly check my blog and leave comments pls http://www.untamedcaesar.wordpress.com Thanks a bunch tho…. :)… Keep blogging and #FLY

Nice post… Great fan tho… Kindly check my blog and leave comments pls http://www.untamedcaesar.wordpress.com Thanks a bunch tho…. :)… Keep blogging and #FLY… Much love

Thank you. Will do 😊

Great year for you. Wish you an even better 2014.
Happ New Year

http:// http://www.cerebrallysaturated.wordpress.com

Thank you. I wish you the same and more.

Nice, I’m happy for you and I love your writeup once again. Gods blessings that adds no sorry to it and Gods grace will never depart from you and your family.
My love to your sibling in Mayflower, ewa dara pupo, I’m also a product of Mayflower and their ‘twice’ daily beans except on Sundays.
God bless dear.

lol. Thanks Maf! Nice to know!
Have an awesome year ahead.

Dokita wa. God bless you. Have an amazing year ahead

Hey dear, thanks and God bless. I wish you an awesome year ahead. More books and all your heart desires.

I see you had a fab year. When we decide to count our blessings, we see that God has indeed been faithful.
Cheers to an even better 2014. Hope you blog more, besides Ajasa’s tales. Lol
Happy New year hun
Love
E

You always make my day! Please write a lot more! :*

Thanks. 😊. I’ll try.

Lol. I just saw this thanks to oumissa. I love you. :*

Kem dela creame……. :d

Share Your Thoughts

  • None
  • Cecila: When shopping from the internet, a numerate of the great unwashed ofttimes take time to scan done a twosome of reviews on the merchandise ahead qual
  • cycatrx: Kem dela creame....... :d
  • bybaaaa: Lol. I just saw this thanks to oumissa. I love you. :*

Awards

You like this blog so much??
Follow us via email :)

Copyright

Most Images are 'borrowed' from Google Images. Others are from Twitter, BBM and Instagram. This'll last till I can lay my hands on Graphic Designing.
